Senior Week

Three years ago today, I was only three months in to my first season playing tennis for the Georgia Bulldogs. Today, I am the lone senior being honored this weekend at our last two regular season SEC matches. Wow, how time flies.

I could sit here and write for hours about what I have learned throughout these very rewarding years playing Division I tennis for one of the top programs in the country. But more than anything, I have learned the irreplaceable value of teamwork and leadership.

Being a student-athlete at UGA has taught me numerous valuable life lessons that I have been able to apply now as well as take into my life after athletics. Before coming to college, tennis was an individual sport where I learned the value of hard work, persistence, and resilience. Through my athletic experience at UGA and because tennis became a team sport at the collegiate level, I have truly learned the significance of teamwork. I have teammates from many diverse cultures and backgrounds, and we all think differently. One of the most rewarding parts of teamwork and leadership has been bringing my teams together each year to buy into the common culture of excellence at UGA and within our tennis program. Buying into a common belief in the way we do things allows us to then reach for common goals such as a National Championship.

Because of my experience as an athlete at UGA, I am confident that in the business world I will be able to work well with many different types of people and lead them to make the right decisions. I am confident in my ability to solve problems and pull a group of people together to reach a benchmark or goal. The lessons I have had throughout the past few years provide me qualities that will be beneficial in all aspects of my future life. I will forever be grateful for the opportunity to be a student-athlete at the University of Georgia. With Senior Day coming up this week, I have every reason to be grateful and every reason to reach out to others and lead them to take advantage of the opportunities and learning experiences I have been fortunate enough to have.

One thought on “Senior Week

Leave a Reply

